Do you want some drama with that fix ?

So yesterday the US servers received the patch 1.0.3 and then a lot of drama ensued. Most people are crying on the various forums because one of the major changes of this patch was this:

  • While going over the data collected for renown gained by healing, we discovered a few incorrect values that led to players earning far more renown than designed.  To ensure equal renown gains for players regardless of their chosen career and whether they group or not inside scenarios, we have made several adjustments to the way renown is granted from healing other players:
    • Earning renown from healing players was erroneously granting renown while outside of RvR.  This has been adjusted so getting renown for healing players outside of RvR or from a player that is not RvR flagged will occur less frequently.
    • Healing players will grant renown correctly if the healed player has earned renown from killing other players recently.
  • So first let’s say that this was actually a FIX and not a NERF. I can perfectly understand that healers were gaining too much renown compared to DPS careers. So it needed addressing.

    While checking the various places I found some threads that I absolutely love reading like these. People seem to be deeply impacted by that change, some are even saying they will reroll another career because they don’t like how much renown they are gaining now. I think those people should not be healers in the first place, I for one, don’t play my shaman because the gain of renown I get seems good, but because I actually like the career and all of its aspect. Even if lately I got a bit bored of chain losing Mourkain Temple but that is another issue.

    Some people are also saying they will stop being heal speced and go for DPS, once more if a small change(it is not like you don’t gain any renown anymore, not even close) makes you change the way you play your character like that, you should stop playing mmo altogether because we all know that sometimes changes that gives us more of an impact are implemented and it will not be long before we start seeing balance patches for War. Can’t wait for the drama!

    All in all, this patch was a fast one again and that is not bad at all. I like smaller changes but more often. Now what they REALLY have to fix is not let people be able to solo in scenarios. I mean we are supposed to fight a war and it was like some people said, “Oh you guys bores me I’m going my own way even tho I don’t get the benefits from you”. That really must go because it hurts teamwork.

4 Responses to “Do you want some drama with that fix ?”

  1. arbitrary Says:

    Well, can’t wait to see how it does affect things. I have no problems with them fixing stuff, but don’t understand why they went for healers’ renown before they fixed dps’ xp for going solo in scenarios! I want them to fix them together and, as you said, stop people soloing in scenarios altogether

  2. Yes I find that people soloing in scenarios is really not smart I’d like to see that fixed. And I agree with you sometimes they chose quite odd stuff to fix first but at least the patch are flowing in and I like that 🙂

  3. See, i been rolling scenarios as a shaman partied with a chosen buddy since launch.. and were within half a bar of renown (taken into account that we sometimes solo) but still me and him gain about the same amount of renown per RvR .. ill look thru my screen shots and see but i thought we usually got the same

  4. Such team spirit 🙂

Leave a Reply

